books / personal / writing

Writing Challenges

crea•ture/ˈkrēCHər/Noun - An animal, as distinct from a human being

With NaNoWriMo coming up next month, it feels like a good time to think about writing challenges. That said, it isn’t the imminent arrival of NaNoWriMo that put me in mind of this, but one of my fellow writers who read at the latest Small Stories event in Bristol (you can read about my experience at their first event here).

This particular lady, Clare Crestani, had set herself the challenge of writing a 250 word flash fiction daily. This is an amazing feat for two reasons, the first being that not everyone can manage to make the time to write a daily story, and secondly it is really bloody difficult to write a 250 word story. I actually tried the other day to write a 250 word story and it ended up at around 1200 – Oops  – so I doff my hat to her!

... or I would if I had a hat! … or I would if I…

View original post 395 more words

Leave a Reply

