personal / writing

Recreating Productivity

crea•ture/ˈkrēCHər/Noun - An animal, as distinct from a human being

I have recently been trying to recreate the environment of when I was writing most prolifically. This has been somewhat difficult because that time was when I was a student.

I did a four year undergraduate degree and a one year Masters, with a year out in between working a couple of part time jobs. This was the most productive writing period of my life to date.

The main reason was because the schedule of studying and working part-time (even doing both simultaneously) allowed me to write at the best time for me. I have always been more productive between the hours of 10pm and the small hours of the morning – sometimes as early/late as 4 or 6am. Not only was it generally a time of less disruption, my ideas flow better at night. This was perfectly possible back then. I was younger and could grab a two hour…

View original post 264 more words

Leave a Reply

