FlashbackFriday / personal / poetry / writing

Flashback Friday: Poem – Different ways of looking at Tybalt Eskabar Jones III

As mentioned in my recent poetry post, I’ve never especially been into poetry, but had to do some for a Creative Writing class in 2003/2004. I recently came across some of the poems I wrote as part of the class and though I’d share them here with you. So here’s one about my parent’s cat that those of you who follow me on Twitter will know I have recently been cat sitting. Feel free to laugh and tear it apart, poetry is not my thing and other than a couple of bits I love, the rest I mostly phoned in.

We had to use for inspiration and guidance Wallace Stevens’ poem Thirteen Ways of Looking at  Blackbird, so here is

Different Ways of the looking at Tybalt Eskabar Jones III

The cat in question in his favourite relaxation/snoozing pose

The cat in question in his favourite relaxation/snoozing pose

I
Creeping around the corner.
The kitten laughs.

II
Looking on, watching
Swish
Swish
He watches Bustopher’s Tail

III
Black cats, black cats
Everywhere
Black cats

IV
Normal people where hats
some people none
Strange people wear cats
Some people: Tybalt

V
Who knows what you can achieve
Deep down if you try
Even if things look bad
It just depends on where Tybalt is

VI
Algy green rocks by a stream
Stepping stones in Victorian boots
Being watched by cat’s eyes

VII
A golden calf they worshipped
But the idolisers
They had no need
For a black cat

VIII
Riding crows like fairy men
Drinking honey from acorn cups
And among them their prince
The sleek eyed Tybalt

IX
Roving over China
Gunpowder pops
Dragon’s shaped like Tybalt

X
Is the King’s beard genuine
asks Tybalt

Tybalt as a tryhard kitten wanting to earn Buster's affections

Tybalt as a tryhard kitten wanting to earn Buster’s affections

 

XI
When Tybalt cries
It must be daisy picking time

XII
I slink, therefore I am
I am Cat
I am Tybalt

*

NB: Bustopher from verse II is my beloved and recently deceased kitty who loved to beat the ever loving snot out of Tybs – read my In Memoriam post here.

Tybby Tiger and Busty Boo: Black cats, Black cats, everywhere, Black cats

Tybby Tiger and Busty Boo: Black cats, Black cats, everywhere, Black cats

Leave a Reply

