Short Story / writing / zombies

Small Stories, Bristol

My evening at Small Stories, Bristol.

crea•ture/ˈkrēCHər/Noun - An animal, as distinct from a human being

On Monday 7th April I was privileged to be part of the first Small Stories event at The Birdcage in Bristol. I was delighted to be joined by my husband and two of our friends, including Dis Charge (not in drag), whom one of my story’s characters is based on.

1148967_603731433055020_569158243_n

It was the first time I had ever read any of my writing in public and it was quite the experience. Being a performer I am no stranger to the stage, but it’s crazy how much more nerve-wracking reading a story can be than performing at or compering a burlesque show. I put it down to the fact that writing is so personal – even if fiction – and many of us are terrified that the reaction is not what I should be. After all, rejection lurks around every corner for a writer.

My main concern was that no one would find…

View original post 641 more words

3 thoughts on “Small Stories, Bristol

  1. I’ve never read my work in public but I can just imagine how nerve-wracking it must be. I remember that when I was at Webber-D and we had directed something, it was up to the director to stand in front of the tabs and introduce it. Though we were all actors-in-training, some of us were hopeless at being ourselves in order to do this effectively. I was determined to do it with assurance and was even more nervous than normal as a result. Wish I could remember what it was…oh, yes, a mini version of Cowardy Custard! By the way, I’m afraid I still haven’t had a chance to to start reading the book, let alone review it but I promise it will be done though maybe not as soon as either of us would have hoped. Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

